Phase 2 by Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas CD Review

Fear , and Loathing in Las Vegas has one of the most unique sounds have ever heard in my lifetime. Remarkably when I first heard one of their songs it was while watching the horrible anime series, Brynhildr in the Darkness. Still even though later would hate the anime series that featured Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas through the second opening theme song. The same would not happen to Fear,and Loathing in Las Vegas’s music. If anything when the Parasyte anime series premiered this Fall 2014. I was further impressed. As in I seriously revere this band and their music. I seriously do.

Seeing as how I have professed my love for the anime opening theme songs performed by Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas. It should come as no surprise that my favorite songs so far by the music band are Virtue and Vice and Let Me Hear.

Pretty excited about listening to the full version of Let Me Hear which will release sometime in January 2015. The full version has not been made available yet and the only source to get a listen to Let Me Hear is by watching the opening theme song of the Parasyte anime series. In other words, the wait is slowly killing me inside. Even so, already planning to order Let Me Hear by Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas in CD which will be available on Limited Edition. At this point just hope the Limited Edition includes some interesting extras like a small photobook or something.

Now for the Phase 2 CD release by VAP. Phase 2 includes: 1. Are You Ready to Blast off? 2. Rave-Up Tonight 3. Swing It!! 4. Thunderclap 5. Interlude 6. Virtue and Vice 7. Nail the Shit Down 8. Rain Inside Your Eyes 9. Counterattack of the Sesame Sized Bodies 10. Flutter of Cherry Blossom 11. Stay as Who You Are

As an entire album release the songs all seem to connect to each other seamlessly and they slip from one track to another like that too. It could be that Are You Ready to Blast Off? sort of sets the stage, then the Interlude sort of takes a break, and then it finally continues on until the music album closes. Still some of the songs that really jump at me particularly on first listen: Virtue and Vice, Rave-Up Tonight, Flutter of Cherry Blossom, Nail the Shit Down, and Rain Inside Your Eyes.

The things that makes an impression and will likely draw any listener in will be the perfect sync between So’s amazing auto-tuned singing and Minami’s strong screamo singing. They compliment each other really well. So for me when they both get the same amount of singing in a song is probably where I am the most happiest since I love the auto-tuned singing.

The backing music background is pretty skilled when it comes to the other members of the band. The band seems to be pretty talented in general for coming together to create this level of music.

Virtue and Vice 

from the album Phase 2

Let Me Hear

Single and not part of the Phase 2 album. Release Date: January 7, 2015

Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas

Clean/Scream Vo.-So

Scream Vo.& Keyboard-Minami

Guitar-Sxun

Guitar-Taiki

Bass-Kei

Drums-Tomonori

Now for something rather surprising. Seeing as how I am Mexican I can speak Spanish and understand it, so when the Interlude came on by Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas. Imagine my surprise to hear people talking in the background in Spanish. Being in the position I am just so anyone would like to know. Interlude is about a young man and young woman planning talking about their wedding plans. They are also deciding on having a party 6 months and a year later. The soon-to-be-bride at one point expresses she wants to actually wear a kimono like people in Japan do. Which I found hilarious because people all over the world I am sure when they think Japan this thought of wearing a Japanese kimono has at least come across them once. I found Interlude refreshing for the band to do since have never seen it done before. They would go as far as that and it also just shows what a sense of humor they have.

I seem to be a newer fan of Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas but I will say that it does not matter if I found the band through anime. If anything the music industry in Japan should see anime as a great way to promote their music artists or bands since foreigners also see anime. But anyway. I am just thankful found their music. I really wish I can continue to hear more of the songs that they release in the coming years.

My Personal Favorite Tracks from Phase 2

1) Virtue and Vice

2) Rave-Up Tonight

3) Flutter of Cherry Blossom

4) Rain Inside Your Eyes

5) Nail the Shit Down

6) Counterattack by the Sesame Sized Bodies

I mostly chose these as my favorite songs from Phase 2 because they have either a lot of energy or they seem to each still fit within the album releases confines but also stray from each other in how they sound. These are also songs find both thrilling and or really astounding. I am after all still trying to puzzle how I even like this music which is screamo, electronica/metal, and auto-tuned singing.

The auto-tuned singing by So which find extremely wonderful. I also seem to like more songs by Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas when there is a balance of the screamo from Minami with So’s clean vocals. I guess the pure screamo would be just too much for me. So I guess that is why I like Virtue and Vice and Let Me Hear so much more. Which surprisingly are both used as anime exclusive opening theme songs.

Phase 2 by Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas CD

-The actual booklet/inserts are even more glossy than pictured for the album artwork on the Internet. It is one of those things where having a CD album release in actual person is way better than Digital.

-Actual CD also sophisticated and resembles outer space theme of Phase 2

– All in all it is a pretty flashy, and attractive CD album release by VAP.

A short version review is also able to viewed on Amazon.com. Seller made purchase from being SOUND JAPAN.

Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas Biography

Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas band

Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas Official Website: http://www.lasvegas-jp.com/

Find out More: Last.fm

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Falilv

Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas is a post-hardcore band with elements of electronica. The band was originally formed in the summer of 2008 by the former members of Ending for a start and Blank Time.

The band mainly plays heavy music with both high and low shouts, but unlike typical metal sounds, they have electronic beats and autotuned singing.

The audacious and unique fusion of heavy music and various electronic sounds produced by the keyboard has fascinated many audiences.-Last.fm

7 thoughts on “Phase 2 by Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas CD Review

  1. Sé que hablas español, así que no voy a escribir en inglés en esta oportunidad por ese mismo motivo. Aunque es más pereza creo yo.

    Estaba buscando algún comentario sobre el interludio, también me pareció muy interesante la historia hablada en español, seguro eso llamará la atención de muchos, no sólo de hispanohablantes.

    Me encanta esta banda, y comparto al 100% que su sonido es único y bien refrescante para el mundo del post-hardcore. Las bandas japonesas en general me llaman la atención porque no suelen tener un sesgo para crear música, me gusta que mezclen estilos, y si lo logran tan bien como Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, bienvenido sea.

    Like

Comments are closed.