My Dislike of Aniplex of America’s Pricing Model| Part 2

Aniplex of America logo

I hope by now through consistent blogging it has becomes apparent that I have never liked the Pricing Model that Aniplex of America works by. When I say that I refer to the pricing models for anime.

Recently so much so I cringe inwardly when I see an upcoming new anime that will begin airing and see Aniplex of America will simulcast such a series since I know whenever a home video release comes out I wont likely ever be able to own such a series from them.

You can see more of this in: The Irregular at Magic High School posts, and My Ani-Watchlist of Anime from September 2014

Given that surely there are many anime fans from all walks of life one would think anime would become more accessible especially here in North America. On most accounts that is a reality especially these years. You even have SAVE Edition Lines of anime released by FUNimation Entertainment. Yet, you still have anime companies in North America [mainly Aniplex of America] still charging high prices for anime even when it comes to Standard Edition which looks like a bare-bones average release for anime. For their Limited Editions it is reasonable but when you talk about their regular editions it makes no real sense.

Valvrave the Liberator Season 1 Blu-ray from Aniplex of America. Unfortunately only in Blu-ray. With a release like this completely locked out here on this anime release. By the way, Valvrave the Liberator is one of my top favorite anime from my lifetime but only Aniplex has it licensed here in North America. Sadly.

Valvrave the Liberator Season 2 Blu-ray-Aniplex of America

Design and cover artwork for Season 1 and Season 2 though is gorgeous for Valvrave the Liberator.

Another issue that I have to also really remark on is the ever growing noticeable releases of favoring Blu-ray anime releases. Given that Blu-ray is usually more upscale one has to wonder if Aniplex of America notices just what an inconvenience Blu-ray releases are to your regular anime fan. Taking into account anime fans could likely be middle-class most then would only posses a DVD player, so then one wonders why are they trying to make things difficult for anime fans who want to get their slice of their favorite anime. It really seems like they are trying to rope in fans of anime into the whole Blu-ray area. Some would argue that there are collector types or those who care for high video quality for anime and while that may be true that does not apply to everyone.

Whenever I think of Aniplex I think they are a really glossy and prestigious-looking anime company headquartered in North America but with that also comes a quality of being inaccessible to anime fans.

Previously: Pony Canyon to Launch Streaming and Home Video Distribution in North America| Part 1

One thought on “My Dislike of Aniplex of America’s Pricing Model| Part 2

  1. Pingback: Pony Canyon to Launch Streaming and Home Video Distribution in North America| Part 1 | The Huge Anime Fan

Comments are closed.