My Interest in Yaoi Manga

Caste Heaven Yaoi Meme

You know it is also 2015, accept it.

I have always been a deep supporter inside and believer that men who love men is alright. I mean this is not something where someone is hurting someone else and if two people want to be together than that is fine since everyone is entitled to choose who they want to be even if that is with people of the same sex. Simply because we are all humans.

Due to that, I really believe that is why I have been into yaoi manga. I think it was easy for me to develop a taste for yaoi manga because of this.

Still another reason is that even to this day I also identify with having knowledge that I can be attracted to both guys and girls. Although interestingly enough the first person I ever truly liked was a girl who was a close friend of mine so much so would have dreams about. This was only in Kindergarten! At that time I thought “what is going on? And why do I have thoughts of kissing a girl?”. To this day, sometimes, depending if there is a girl who I find that is my type I won’t deny that I can surely get fluttery feelings. The thing is after thinking about this deeply I have come to realize that this is a human phenomenon that can happen. People can be attracted to people of their same gender regardless of sex-female or male. It might just be about the people themselves and if they draw your attention.

So Yaoi, for me, besides being interesting is also a reflection that some manga artists realize that these types of relationships while being covered in entertainment can entirely be possible because out there even if some people may deny it. It is entirely possible. That is also why it makes me furious when people call yaoi as being “gay”. Not only because of how the word even said out loud sounds virtually unappealing but it also is almost like a way to set apart a group of people. I am guilty of having used the word gay albeit never in a negative way that is in the past but have used the word since society almost conditions you to use it to give name to what I see as a simple human condition. Why can’t it just be “men who love men”. Or in what may be my case “women who love women”? Why must there be labels to everything like heterosexual, metrosexual, homosexual, and you name it. Heck. I am actually confused by all these terms and even more so their meanings. Even if throughout my whole life have been told about them and know to some extent what they mean. The thing is I won’t accept using them. I won’t. I really just do not approve.

All these human conditions I don’t find weird at all in much the same way I know that mothers giving birth on paper seems pretty easy but in real life not so much. It actually is pretty scary or so I have seen.

As might be expected when I like to think on life deeply I wonder how amusing it is and a bit irritating that people seem to want to put a name to everything in life. It is fine when it comes to Entertainment or Pop Culture but when it comes to people it vastly gets to me particularly with regard to labels.

If you’re wondering why I am tackling my views and yaoi. That is pretty simple. With 2015 I will be diving into the world of yaoi manga a lot more which will reflect on the blog too. I also wanted to share my view on Yaoi and some but not all of my perspective about the world.

