First Look-Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon?

Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon?-2015 Director: Yoshiki Yamakawa | Animation Studio: J.C. Staff

In an unforeseen turn of events considering all North American streaming sites are choosing to consciously stream an episode of Spring 2015 anime in totally different times than their Japan counterpart times. It became noticeable that the first anime I will be greeting would be Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon? instead of what I was originally expecting. Though for reference THE FIRST ANIME I wanted to greet was My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2. The way the rest followed really did not make such of a difference to me but against all odds it seems the pattern of the Spring 2015 anime will watch and then begin blogging will be this: Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon? (USA, Fridays 1:30 PM EDT), My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 (USA, Saturdays 1 AM EDT), and Seraph of the End (USA, Saturdays 10:00 AM EDT). Ironically not the order I would like.

So with the new line-up in place which will be the order of how I will blog. Let’s go into what the first taste of Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon? was like that has animation production done by J.C. Staff, an animation studio, that leaves a specially smooth animation stroke to the anime it produces. And an animation studio I have had my eye on for quite some time.

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon anime-Bell dumbstruck by Aiz and her beauty Part 3

Even completely covered in blood, Bell, can still manage to blush at Aiz’s beauty.

As it would happen with Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon? our main character, Bell Cranel, fell in love with who I am guessing is the main female love interest of Bell, Aiz. I think it is pretty reasonable considering she took down a minotaur beast. I can actually get behind this because it seems it will have a strong and fierce female love interest who is not a damsel in distress, so to speak. Though that could be my feminist streak shining through.

“Please tell me what you know about Miss Aiz Wallenstein!”- Bell Cranel

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon anime-Bell's cuteness

I absolutely loved the cuteness of Bell and his cuteness was further accentuated not just by his cutesy character design but the voice acting done by Yoshitsugu Matsuoka.

And so the main story direction of Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon? is perhaps us seeing if Bell can some day catch up to Aiz’s more successful life as a Dungeon adventurer. Something that seems insurmountable considering he’s considered weak and Aiz the top strong Dungeon adventurer.


Character Notes

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon anime-Bell and Aiz their first meeting

I loved Aiz and Bell. Aiz for her mystery. Bell for his actual gentlemanly and innocent-like nature. And I do seem to enjoy Hestia and Bell’s more motherly, son relationship. Since Hestia seems nurturing to Bell like a son. To my relief, Hestia and Bell’s relationship might be an actual familial relationship rather than a romantic one which is good since sometimes love triangles or harem styled romances in anime can get to be exhausting.

Animation Notes

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon anime Episode 1 Bell in danger from a minotaur

Actually J.C. Staff has come out with a still distinctive but different animation style than their usual anime. It does not look all that smooth but rather has this strange alluring glow-like tinge and you can see it more in Bell’s white tinged hair. But yeah. Even the color palette for the anime is very organic and evocative of nature which works for a series that is Fantasy.


With Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon? wasn’t sure what to expect in the story direction but from the first episode it looks truly promising and this otherworldly cuteness it has going on is very appealing. Besides which the humor present in the series is extremely natural and most amusing. Color me very amused by Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon? Since it is not wrong to try to pick up girls when you are in love with a girl in particular.

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon- Episode 1-Bell wants to have enough prestige to be able to be with Aiz

All photos from the anime gained from Crunchyroll.

Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon?

Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon 2015 anime series

The huge labyrinth city, Orario, is the gateway to the huge underground maze commonly known as the “Dungeon”. Its strange name causes excitement, a place to gain honour, and maybe even a romance with a pretty girl. A place where people hold their breath, hoping to gain all they wish for, a place where a solitary young man meets a little “god”.

Director: Yoshiki Yamakawa

Animation Studio: J.C. Staff

Genre: Fantasy, Comedy, Romance

Licensed streaming and home video rights in North America: Crunchyroll, Sentai Filmworks for Home Video in North America

Available to Watch: Crunchyroll | Simulcast on Fridays 1:30 PM EDT

5 thoughts on “First Look-Is it Wrong to Try to pick up Girls in a Dungeon?

  1. I loved the first two episodes so far 😄 Belle is so cute and the story looks promising nice review of this 😄

    Like

    • Happy to hear the second episode is pretty good too. I have not seen it since unfortunately I am a Free Subscriber on Crunchyroll but I can’t wait to watch the episode. And no problem about my review. I just want to let others know as honestly as possible what I thought on first glimpse. It looked very promising. Very much so.

      Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 I am pretty in love with the title myself. It is very funny. I am pretty sure you will enjoy the anime if you see it since it has beautiful animation. Extremely beautiful animation, I mean.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.