First Look-My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2

My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2-2015 Director: Kei Oikawa | Animation Studio: Feel | Producer: TBS

It feels like forever since I had to wait to watch the premiere of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2. While this is the anime I wanted to greet first for the Spring 2015 due to North America scheduling it fell into being the second anime I was to greet. While I still have Seraph of the End to go which premieres for Non-Premium Subscribers on FUNIMATION at 10:00 AM later today.

While I was super excited for more of my favorite anime it proved a little different than I expected but not in a totally bad way. It just means there are some things I appreciate with the second phase and others not so much.

My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2-Yukino making Hachiman feel inferior

We have the cute Saori Hayami still doing her sometimes “eh” voice overs. Making Yukino seem smart and at times making Hachiman seem like the idiotic one. Yeah. That like Season 1 is still in place with Season 2.

There are a lot of changes that can actually be felt with My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 but at the same time the overly sarcastic and biting blunt humor mainly from Yukino and Hachiman is still there. And since Yui as an anime character is still annoying me with her overly optimistic and often pushy self I can definitely see how this is like Season 1. I can still sense this is the anime I fell in love with.


Animation Notes

The animation looks way more realistic. Especially close up. I am unsure if dislike it at this point. But I cannot say I will hate it since with anime I can forgive an animation style that find unattractive as long as the story is good and the voice acting.

My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2-A bullet train

Though some key scenes wont lie I very much did like the portrayals of the bullet trains halfway through the episode. Somehow the animation style of Feel coupled with the design of the said bullet trains actually makes me see how this ‘realistic’ animation might be of benefit in some areas. For buildings or classrooms in the anime series.

Character Design Notes

The mature look suits the high school setting of the anime series way better than the old character designs of Season 1.

OP-Opening Theme Song-Harumodoki by Nagi Yanagi

Anime theme song! Visually it was wonderful and I especially love how it turns from a colorful scale in the school setting of the series to one in colorless tones, and then even the actual color tones of their real school setting. It gives it a sense of deeper meaning and it may increase one’s idea of this being a metaphor of perhaps the characters’ struggles. Ms. Yanagi’s voice considering this is a sort of slice of life anime actually works well for a series like this. Her voice slowly starts out and picks up and then slowly echoes out. With wonderful pauses as well. When it comes to Ms. Yanagi’s singing the quality that gets to me is her sweet but not overly sweet optimistic singing voice. If it wasn’t over the fact have not seen the opening and ending theme songs of the other anime in plans for review. I would mark off the opening theme song of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 as the most impressive of Spring 2015. Yet, I must not since still must check out the others. Still I testify that the OP for My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 is a worthy successor from My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected.

ED-Ending Theme Song-Everyday World by Saori Hayami and Nao Toyama

While the Ending Theme Song is performed by both Saori Hayami (voice of Yukino) and Nao Toyama (voice of Yui). Both who did the Season 1 theme song, Hello Alone. Which was a shock since it always makes me proud to discover my favorite voice actors or voice actresses can also sing. A placid, lovely song.

The Witty Joke Corner

#1 Clueless guys are forever clueless. Hachiman disapproves.

When a girl says a guy is nice, that means she couldn’t care less about him. The only plus is
your outlook.-Hachiman Episode 1 of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2

#2 What is that? Some tribe’s traditional greeting?-Hachiman. Again Hachiman disapproves. As expected, of course.

My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2-Tribe greeting joke

Saika: The Ongoing Cute Factor

My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2-Saika The Ongoing Cute Factor

Saika CV: Mikako Komatsu


I am still worried a bit over how well I can actually adapt to the animation since it is a rather big change from Brain’s Base less than realism animation. This is way more full of a realistic quality at times and sometimes the movement seems way too into slow motion than it should be. So it is hard to actually make sense of the character expressions and their actions but when listening to the voice actors that can ease the struggle. I suppose.

I wont lie I am very worried but I actually do not want to be wrong that this might not pan out as a memorable anime sequel since I am a very big admirer of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. in anime form and even the light novels by Wataru Watari. And all the lead voice actors/actresses. So I will hope I can soon get used to the animation style. If not, well, I will still watch since this is one of my precious favorite anime of the past years.

My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2-Hachiman sitting on a bench while on the school trip

All photos from the anime gained from Crunchyroll.

My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2

My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 2015 anime series

Hachiman Hikigaya, a pessimistic high school student with no friends, nor interest in making any, and the firm belief that everyone else’s cherished high school experiences are either delusions or outright lies. Hachiman finds himself coerced by his well-meaning student advisor into joining the one member Service Club.

There he encounters club founder Yukino Yukinoshita, a smart, attractive, walking superiority complex who looks down on the entire student body. So begins this tale of youth. Season 2.

Director: Kei Oikawa

Animation Studio: Feel

Genre: Slice of Life, Comedy

Licensed streaming and home video rights in North America: Crunchyroll, Sentai Filmworks for Home Video in North America

Available to Watch: Crunchyroll | Simulcast on Saturdays 1:00 AM EDT

One thought on “First Look-My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2

  1. Pingback: My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 Episode 2-5 Anime Review [Discuss Time] | The Huge Anime Fan

Comments are closed.