An Explanation of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 Episode 3

An Explanation of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 Episode 3 Image 1

While My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 (SNAFU/SNAFU 2) has gained quite the attention since a lot of people can see how it seemingly tried to genuinely shine a light on the difficulties of being a youngster in high school. Many of the people who watch the anime actually surprisingly from what I see do not seem to get the main character Hachiman or certain situations in which he surrounds himself with. This leads to a misunderstanding of interpretation.

I think part of the problem is that a few of the anime fans who are watching have never actually been socially isolated or had difficulty socializing or forming bonds with others in their youth. For many high school may have just been a phase but for those who are real life Hachimans, well, high school was something that was taken seriously. Any uncomfortable experiences back then in high school were taken to heart and any bad memories depending on the temperament of individuals would always leave a memory of those high school days. I know precisely why My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 sticks to me so hard and why I absolutely glorify it with good reason especially to other anime fans because this series is trying to explain to others how quiet people or reserved people really feel. Their mindset and even their hang-ups.

This is why people who are real life Hachimans or similar to his personality might yet understand the series the best and actually not struggle with sometimes the immense interchange of dialogue between the characters. I really point this out entirely because there are a few anime fans who are watching My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 who bring up that the series is boring but I think this is due to a misunderstanding on their part due to not being able to relate since they have never struggled through the pain of trying to understand why in high school and maybe even in life people put up pretenses.

An anime fan who commented on Crunchyroll’s individual episode comment thread sums it up:

An Explanation of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 Episode 3 Image 2

Coming from a guy who is a lot like Hachiman, one thing you need to know is that after years of suffering constant rejection and isolation, you do eventually turn off your ability to feel sympathy for yourself, and begin to simply not care.

And once you get into this state, you convince yourself that you do not want to leave it. You create for yourself a internal world where you can’t be touched by the malice of other people. It is the smartest solution.

This is exactly the comment I am talking about. I think people who likely will appreciate My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 are anime fans who have, in fact, gone through similar or maybe the same experiences as Hachiman in the anime of SNAFU/SNAFU 2. The ones that find the series usually confusing are likely out of touch with the intentions of more quiet and reserved people though I am sure the anime fans who stick around to watch despite never relating to Hachiman might be the most commendable since they are somehow, at least, attempting to understand the mindset of reserved people or as society likes to label these individuals the “shy” types.

Like I mentioned in the full series complete review of SNAFU in the past. People who like this series might only like it if they have a certain mindset or who are willing to try to understand others and be patient.

An Explanation of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 Episode 3 Image 3

Now since I promised I would give an explanation of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 Episode 3. I will do just that. In Episode 3 basically Hachiman and Yukino had a falling out. The reason is Yukino said Hachiman was running away from things since he caved into the thinking pattern of trying to go with the normal accepted patterns of society. Still what Yukino failed to understand is that he merely had a moment of sympathy in wanting to help Hayama’s group with the Ebina case. Though Yukino becomes angry with him since she feels he betrayed his ideals and in a way her too. Basically Hachiman gave into superficiality something that is not something regular for him. Mainly since from Season 1 it was made clear between the two that they are people who try to be realistic and genuine if possible. Not like their peers who put up pretenses and continually try to conform to social cliques in their high school.

This is an anime that is very close to my heart and I actually felt very compelled to actually try to clear up any lack of understanding toward the series. I mean I understand we are all different with various personalities in the world and I am thankful that My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 is actually a pretty good vehicle to actually bridge those gaps as well as give some comfort to those who struggled through those high school days. This is when you realize that an anime like this is actually shining a much needed light on a social issue that is rather important. It can’t be expected that everyone will comprehend but for some it will give some peace of mind in discovering that no one was ever especially alone during those periods of their youth. Some people went through those same experiences and in that there is solace.

An Explanation of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 Episode 3 Image 5

4 thoughts on “An Explanation of My Teen Romantic Comedy is Wrong As I Expected. 2 Episode 3

    • [Blushes] Ha, it sort of makes me embarrassed to share these thoughts with you in particular, Kim. Even so happy you are understanding. It means a lot 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.