Psycho-Pass 2 (2014) Anime Series Review

View of Sybil system ruled society-Psycho-Pass 2 Episode #1

I’m no stranger to the gossip among the anime fanbase and their feelings in regards to how they whole-heartedly believe this anime continuation was a huge disappointment. Yet, I’m here to oppose those unwarranted beliefs and thus allow newer anime fans to this anime franchise to try not to let many of the opinion of the more prominent disenchanted anime fans out there get to you. If your a newer anime fan to this anime franchise or about to continue the series with Psycho-Pass 2 then do so knowing, Psycho-Pass 2, is worth your time as much as Psycho-Pass. Come on! The anime series still retained the same director as Season 1, Naoyoshi Shiotani, so this series is still in some ways Psycho-Pass.

You see while I agree, Psycho-Pass 2, was a departure from Season 1 of Psycho-Pass since it lost its more philosophical core. This is not something that would produce a marring effect since seen like that this can be a continuation to appreciate the anime series for what it is. A different take or direction from a different perspective.

It’s no secret that the scriptwriter for Psycho-Pass 2 was, Jun Kumagai, instead of Gen Urobuchi but while Gen Urobuchi gave us deep thinking questions to puzzle over Jun Kumagai gave, us, anime fans an explosive action, Science Fiction 11 episode journey. I have coincidentally seen other anime where Jun Kumagai has worked on and while the anime he works on can tend to leave you hanging he is gifted at the plot twist game. From Valvrave the Liberator/Valvrave the Liberator 2 to Hamatora The Animation/ Re: Hamatora. The plot twists keep on coming. Plot twists, rule, people. Embrace them!

Are You Not Entertained meme from Gladiator film

Meme credit: GIF Central | One of my personal favorite films: Gladiator

Which brings me to my other point of Are You Not Entertained? Yes, anyone would be while watching Psycho-Pass 2 unless your too busy trying to be overly critical. And while there is nothing wrong with being critical there is a problem when you become overly critical. While in this state of mind nothing will please you as a viewer.

Psycho-Pass 2 Episode #3-Kamui talking to Inspector Shisui

You know I don’t really think there should be a further need for me to elaborate on why you should want to watch Psycho-Pass 2 or Psycho-Pass. Simply put modern-looking, intellectual anime like this do not come out often and that in itself should make you curious. But, hey, the decision is all up to you.

Basically Psycho-Pass 2 is an anime with a different approach but nonetheless a powerful anime series like its predecessor.

Looking at Psycho-Pass 2 the anime easily passed The Huge Anime Fan’s motto:

“Exquisite animation by Production I.G. (no doubt), captivating story progression, immersive characters that show off how strong the character development was, good music in regards to the OP and ED, and passionate voice acting. “

Related Reading: DubSub Anime Reviews-Psycho-Pass Anime Review

Psycho-Pass 2 OPEnigmatic Feeling by Ling Tosite Sigure

Psycho-Pass 2 EDFallen by Egoist

Recommendation Level: Phenomenal anime series. Very Highly Recommended.

* Psycho-Pass 2 Rated on AnimePlanet 9/10 and Hummingbird 4.5 *


Recommendation Tiers

Psycho-Pass 2  (11 episodes)

Genre: Science Fiction, Psychological, Action

Psycho-Pass 2 2014 anime series

Sadly. No!

So-So. Probably should be passed up.

Good anime series. Well recommended.

Phenomenal anime series. Very Highly Recommended.

6 thoughts on “Psycho-Pass 2 (2014) Anime Series Review

  1. Sure I had some qualms with it here and there, but overall I enjoyed season 2 as much as I did season 1. My only big complaint is that I wish it were longer than 11 episodes.

    Like

    • No problem. Fixed it. As for Psycho-Pass 2. Yeah, I also wished it could have been longer. I mean 11 episodes seemed a tad uneven for an episode count.

      Like

  2. Finally, a positive review of this sequel! I haven’t watched it myself, as I’m waiting for a physical release by FUNimation in the U.S. Until then, this’ll be my mindset when I enter the series. Thanks!

    Like

    • Yep. North America anime releases can be a little of an irritant. From when an anime first premieres in Japan to when it finally releases physically in North America has always taken 1 or 2 years. Not exactly ideal. Good! I am glad 🙂 That is the mindset I was trying to inspire. For people not to be afraid to try Psycho-Pass 2.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think anime fans do come across as spoilt and overly critical whenever I see them lambast entire seasons because they can’t find a show to watch but Psycho-Pass 2 was as a step down from the first season. It got incredibly dumb towards the end of the series and the antagonists were nowhere near as interesting as Makishima Shogo and the interesting character dynamics of the original squad didn’t make it into the sequel.

    Apparently, the movie is good.

    Like

    • Again I found it as good as the first season. To me it was pretty grand in scheme. Kamui was pretty mysterious as much as Shogo Makishima and this is coming from someone who found Makishima utterly genius! Though I am sure we all had expectations and that could have affected our enjoyment.

      Really, that is great to hear. 🙂 Thrilled to watch that Psycho-Pass Movie. I am a huge lover of this anime franchise.

      Like

Comments are closed.