Real Neat Blog Award Nomination!

Real Neat Blog Award Logo

A while back, Takuto from Takuto’s Anime Cafe nominated several anibloggers for the Real Neat Blog Award. Being one of those anibloggers he nominated I’ll answer the questions he posed as promised.


Are you absolutely content with your blog? Do you plan to add any new segments or features soon?

I am so, no, I will not be adding new segments or features. I have a lot of varied content. I don’t just do seasonal anime blogging or full anime series reviews. I also cover anime news, light novel news, voice actor news, and off-site anime giveaways that interest me. Beyond that I also work on music reviews from musicians that come across in anime.

Have you ever considered creating a YouTube channel?

I have but that has not been very successful since I would need better video equipment and someone to help film me. So Youtube is not the best option for me. Not that it matters since from what I hear Youtube does not guarantee you that much exposure or money if you’re in it for the money, that is. Youtube is not exactly what everyone makes it out to be (Western Otaku, TheHeroKid).

Do you find yourself reading more manga, playing more games, or watching more anime?

Neither of any. Lately I have become disillusioned with how I see anime fans and the anime they consume. Too many are continually only praising and looking into old, staple anime classics like Bleach, Naruto, Neon Genesis Evangelion, Cowboy Bebop, Death Note, and Fate/Stay Night and the many versions of the Fate/Stay Night anime franchise. Don’t get me wrong, I love that people love anime but sometimes I wish people would become interested in lesser known stuff no matter what it is. It is sad how many people are just letting some extraordinary anime pass them by.

What is the first anime that you recommend to a new person, considering that they are cool with any genre and episode length?

Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion/Code Geass R2. That will make you reflect on the cause for the younger generation or for those who are not part of the younger generation that anime would help you understand the mindset of the younger generation of millennials.

Do you prefer to buy anime limited or standard edition, if any?

I prefer Limited Edition. Limited Edition in anime or even in Music, for that matter, always has better more attractive packaging and cover artwork. That being the case I am more than willing to pay more, if I know something will look more visually attractive or contain some extra packaging like a hefty artbook or some other nice collectible. To me the presentation matters enough to warrant paying more.

Borrowing this one from JekoJeko, which show do you wish your life was more like?

Cuticle Detective Inaba. That universe is utterly hilarious! While I am unsure if it is an anime series for everyone, I liked it.

What is one anime that you will defend to your death, if any, regardless of its understandable flaws?

Guilty Crown. All I will say is: It is not as bad some individuals make it out to be. Sure, I had to re-watch the last episode twice but with some reasoning and imagination based off the Science Fiction world the anime series made sense. This is what most anime fans do not understand who are not heavy appreciators of intricate storytelling. The anime series made sense if you think carefully.

Official Rules of the Real Neat Blog Award

  • Put the award logo in your Blog
  • Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you
  • Thank the people who nominated you, linking their blogs
  • Nominate any number of bloggers you like, liking their blogs
  • Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog)
  • Ask the bloggers 7 new questions

The Nominees I Choose

justanotheranimefan | I enjoyed reading justanotheranimefan’s review of Code Geass and we share similar interests in believing that Cuticle Detective Inaba was a hilarious anime series. Other than that, I have enjoyed a few other articles from the blog. I could not recommend the blog enough! There is some great content to be found on the justanotheranimefan blog.

Our Inked Obsession | Carolyn writes excellent in-depth analysis on manga. Her reviews are exactly the type of reviews I look for not only in manga but in anime. Intelligent, comprehensive, and above all willing to state their full-on opinion. I hate objective reviews and Carolyn does not do fluff reviews. Love her work on Our Inked Obsession.

My Created Questions for the Real Neat Blog Award

1. What is your vision for your blog?
2. What do you specialize in with your blog?
3. If you had to choose: favorite #1 anime series?
4. What are other interests do you have besides anime blogging/manga blogging?
5. Do you follow seasonal anime? Why or why not?
6. Question: Have you heard of TK from Ling Tosite Sigure within the worldwide anime fanbase? If you haven’t, please, disregard the question.
7. After the barrage of questions. What are your thoughts in general surrounding Blog Awards?


There you have it. I think part of my recent loss of interest in anime may be more to do with the attitude of some anime fans but never fear I will still be active on Twitter. You can follow any thing I might tweet through @TheHugeAnimeFan or @BookLoverC. Until next time.

8 thoughts on “Real Neat Blog Award Nomination!

  1. Oh man Cuticle Detective Inaba has been on my plan to watch list since it came out. I’m a sucker for detective/mystery shows. I enjoyed reading your answers!

    Like

  2. I tried watching guilty crown a while ago (at my brother’s insistence) but I just couldn’t finish it, I think I only got to the part where the MC was jealous that his friend? (or someone) was getting chummy with the girl MC? I don’t remember but I was just like (/□\*)・゜

    but I’m being told I should continue it and I might…one day lol

    Code Geass is another one I haven’t watched >.> at least not all of it, I watched a few random episodes? I don’t even remember why I didn’t finish since I didn’t think it was bad…

    random Q: I know that you’ve showed us photo/artbooks before, do you just put them on a shelf when you get them? or do you display them in another way? I don’t really buy photo/artbooks because I don’t really know how to display them (and just having them on a shelf when they’re already pretty thin feels like a waste) lol?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I usually like to display them near my high definition TV but I do not always have room since my room is overrun by many, many books. It is way easier for me to display anime figures since those stand upright as opposed to artbooks or musician photobooks. Those if I were to display upright I am so afraid of them getting damaged.

      Liked by 1 person

      • haha, the dilemma ! I wouldn’t be able to display near my TV since it’s super tiny (I swapped my big one out for a smaller one + shelf space >.>) lol

        well, I’ll think of something eventually, thanks 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow that’s crazy – I just had the urge to tackle Code Geass and now I’m about 7 episodes in. Great stuff so far!
    And I’m probably one of those classic polishers, as I have fallen head over heels for Evangelion and Fate anything is simply incredible. Apologies for those constant reminders, but I can’t help but express my appreciation for those shows.
    (A few lesser known anime that I also love include C: Control, Michiko and Hatchin, Negima!?, and B Gata H Kei. Maybe one of those will suit your tastes, I feel you) 🙂
    Thanks so much for answering my questions – congrats again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great! I rank Code Geass/Code Geass R2 with being my #2 favorite anime. Number #1 being Darker Than Black/Darker Than Black: Ryusei no Gemini.

      [Nods] [C] Control- The Money of Soul and Possibility is certainly one anime that falls into the more obscure. Pretty terrific anime 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So fun to learn more about you and your blog! I love that you are in a good place with your blog and that you aren’t looking to change anything at the moment. That is always a good feeling. 🙂 I will have to check out the anime you recommended. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.