Announcement: A Leave on Aniblogging

Hakuna Matata by R3hab (Hardwell Edit)

I think it is important I get it out there. Despite the upcoming Spring 2016 Anime Season being close at hand, all this time, I still haven’t mustered my enthusiasm for anime.

So that means I won’t be able to blog about anything with focus. Not only that but my interest in JRock and JPop has also suffered a hit since I further discovered more EDM music. EDM as in electronic dance music. You can read more about that here: My Latest Obsession-EDM music {Book & Movie Dimension a Blog}

Which is why instead of forcing myself to blog about something I’m not so enthusiastic about I thought I would just continue on my road to book blogging and also work on blogging at my music blog. These are two areas where I don’t feel held down since I actually have an interest in them currently.

So yeah. This does mean a goodbye but like last time I wouldn’t be surprised if I returned again out of the blue. I am capricious, after all.

Oh, and one last thing. I was planning on writing a review of Candy by Geek Sleep Sheep but that is not going to happen. At this time finding the will for that is too daunting.

16 thoughts on “Announcement: A Leave on Aniblogging

  1. Been deep into EDM for years; I really recommend exploring niche and upcoming artists on Soundcloud, Hype Machine and similar places. Bigroom artists like Hardwell may sound big, but between ghost production and pre-recorded DJ sets, there isn’t a lot going for them as artists when you get down to it.

    I recommend people like Vanic, Flume, Madeon, Mat Zo, Mura Masa, Porter Robinson (oh definitely Porter Robinson – just listen to the whole of Worlds), TheFatRat, Illenium, Ramzoid, Hotel Garuda, Louis the Child, San Holo, Grynpyret, Wave Racer, Cosmo’s Midnight, Feed Me… those are just off the top of my head. Bigroom EDM like Hardwell is sort of a dying genre, as much as it’s still fun to listen to.

    For bigroom I find artists like Vicetone and Puppet and other smaller names have way more personality and soul behind their music. Though Hardwell and co. do sometimes tick my boxes; ‘Arcadia’ is something I always love playing Osu! to.

    If you want some specific recommendations I can put together a quick playlist of cool EDM songs I love. I’d really enjoy doing that, actually. Sad to hear you’re losing interest in anime, but following wherever your interests go is the way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah. I know. I am aware Hardwell is pretty big in terms of EDM artists but I like what he does. The thing is he has got splashy sounds and that is what I love. And if you ask me if the demand is still there I do not think his type of EDM will ever be a genre that dies out. Like you said his EDM still can tick off all your boxes. I know it is pretty fun. 🙂 That is what I like.

      Oh, really? Sure! I would love that. To be honest, I myself champion the indie artists more. Feel free to leave your links on here if that is a Youtube playlist or Soundcloud one.

      Liked by 1 person

        • Alright. I’ll follow you JekoJeko. 🙂 But artificiality as in how? Even checked out his Live videos and the guy checks out fine. I actually think Hardwell is pretty down to earth. And trust me I am a good reader of personality. Throughout the years I have had to be.

          Like

          • Well, artists like Hardwell pre-mix their sets at the massive gigs that earn them massive sums of money, so they’re not DJing live. On top of that, his style of DJing is incredible simple for one of the ‘top DJs in the world’. The more you discover about EDM DJs, the more you learn that the Main Stage is rarely where effort is being put into the production.

            A good comparison is to someone like Madeon, Deadmau5 or Porter Robinson, who genuinely perform all their music live, triggering loops of samples, percussion etc. and palying around with them with Midi controllers and the like, along with DJing in other people’s tracks (though their ‘Live’ sets are often only their own music). Comparing the amount of artistry and potential there is with EDM Djing to what Hardwell does on stage never makes me view him as someone who should be celebrated as much as he is.

            If you haven’t, watch Madeon’s ‘Pop Culture’ and imagine someone performing a set of EDM mostly like that.

            Liked by 1 person

          • To be honest, from the beginning I do not think EDM requires much musical ability so the difference between pre-mixing or not is not really important, in my opinion. Especially when EDM music is often a combination of sampled music. Don’t get me wrong I still see EDM artists as artists since they are still getting their music out there and I still view what they do as music but you are not going to compare something they do with what Rock musicians do. EDM does not require as much skill and practice on instruments, so whether they mix things Live or not is really not that important in my view. But if it is to you then all the more power to you.

            Like

          • You’ll see the skill and potential of EDM more and more the more you get away from commercial artists like Hardwell and see what other people are doing. Technology is capable of amazing things.

            EDM is a whole different skill-set to rock musicians – while some EDM artists will play live instruments and cause some overlap, the skill in EDM mostly comes from the difficulty of producing, mastering and entertainingly sequencing your work. Sonic experimentation and intuitively, exciting flowing from one track to the next. If you really want to get into EDM, I really recommend not looking down on it as a form of music requiring less skill or having less musical potential.

            The question is, how much actual live DJing and EDM performance have you heard? I remember listening to one of Porter Robinson’s sets and, since then, could never get behind premixing in the slightest. There’s too much fun to be had when someone is improvising with the music you’re familiar with live. It gets even more technical when you consider artists who interface with the balancing of frequencies live too.

            The skill of EDM, in terms of triggering samples live, is akin to the skill most rock bands have with one of their members on a Moog synthesizer. The skill of DJing is a whole different field – the DMC championships are a good place to see what the capabilities of turntables are, vinyl or CD. The skill of mastering and producing factor into both of those.

            If EDM didn’t require much musical ability, why aren’t both you and I famous already? 🙂

            Like

          • I never said that EDM did not require “any” skill now did I? I am saying not as much as other instruments heavy music. Those took years to master. EDM does “some” as for example EDM artists would have to learn how to use the electronic devices obviously. And believe me I am not looking down on it but I also am taking into account how it is. It is called being realistic. As to your question: Well, first off I am not interested in a career in music that is why I am not famous for something like EDM. 🙂

            Like

          • Well, you are looking down on it. You’re not considering how long it takes to learn how to produce and master the samples and sounds that make up EDM. You also just implied that the reason you’re not into EDM is because you’re not interested in a career it in. If you were, how long do you think it would take you to sign to a record label?

            When it comes to ‘instrument heavy music’, the artist playing the instrument doesn’t have to make the instrument and fine-tune its sound themselves. They buy the best instrument they can and play it. EDM artists can buy samples, but the ones that make big money or get a big audience make their own unique sound.

            Just take a glance at Mat zo’s forum for music producers and you’ll see how in-depth EDM music production is. I think I’m the one being realistic about how hard it is to make good electronic music.

            Like

          • The thing is relax. I am not looking down on it but at the end of the day I do not think whatever I say would convince you. I guess we will just have to agree to disagree.

            Like

          • I’ll just summarize like this: listening to Hardwell and co and judging EDM based off that is akin to watching SAO, Naruto and Attack on Titan and judging all of anime based on those.

            Like

          • Alright. I am glad we can bring this to a close. Well, good thing I do not see anything wrong with big popular mainstream titles. After all at the end of the day it does not matter if something is indie or not. As long as the music is high quality.

            Like

Comments are closed.