Bookmeter the Japanese Goodreads

Since getting into Japanese books, I needed a way to keep track of everything I was reading. That is when I discovered, Bookmeter, which is owned by Kadokawa. The same one that publishes anime, light novels, and manga. Though I hear they are involved with video games too.

But more importantly, TK’s Yureru, the first Japanese book I read in the raw Japanese was published by Kadokawa.

What a surprise!

But back to Bookmeter, whereas Goodreads did not even have TK’s book, Bookmeter, did. Probably due to his book not having an official English translation.

Seems to be the only Goodread-type of site on the Japanese-side I could find. Although I am surprised Kadokawa owns it. I suppose it is not all that different to how Amazon.com owns Goodreads in the USA.

So far on Bookmeter, I am keeping a low-profile so people cannot tell I am not Japanese. Since from what I gather everything posted on the site is in Japanese therefore it is more than likely that most of the people using it are the Japanese and I do not want to attract negative attention.

It is an interesting site unlike Goodreads it has a section where you can post updates about anything. Kind of reminded me of X (formerly Twitter).